Spain extends international ban on entry into country until 15 June

Boder lockdown

Spain is extending its ban on entry to the country from outside the EU and the Schengen area. The order goes into effect on Saturday 16 May and will remain in place until midnight on Monday 15 June.

The measure was initially introduced on 21 March and due to expire on Friday. Spain’s Boletín Oficial del Estado (BOE) has confirmed the extension, stating that it is following the EU Commission’s recommendation to do so from 8 May.

All nationals of countries outside the EU or the Schengen Area will not be allowed entry, except for those having a long-term visa for any of those countries and who are heading to the country that issued the visa. Also exempt are cross-border workers, on-duty health workers and cargo drivers, as well as transport crew, diplomats, and those arguing force majeure.

The regulation does not apply to Andorra and Gibraltar.

This extension also comes after Spain imposed a 14-day quarantine for everyone entering its borders, which has come into effect today, Friday 15 May. That measure will last until the end of the ‘state of alarm’ (midnight 23 May), or any further extensions of it.

Also on Friday, the official gazette further regulated the entry of all people by plane or boat – restricting it to just five airports and eight ports.

The airports in Madrid, BarcelonaGran Canaria, Malaga and Palma de Mallorca are permitted for entry, as well as the ports of BarcelonaBilbao, Las Palmas, Malaga, Palma, Tenerife, Valencia and Vigo.

Exceptions to the rule include state aircrafts and vessels sailing for humanitarian purposes.

This order is also in force until midnight 23 May or until the end of any new extensions of the ‘state of alarm’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *